Recently while Kathy and Joe we’re out hustling (Open Housing) I was at a rural Farmer’s Market enjoying the sun. St. Jacobs Farmer’s Market is quite an experience. There is something for everyone: local produce, fresh baked goods, foot long hot dogs, plants, perfume, furniture and so much more.

 

One thing I came across that I didn’t know existed were Black Eyed Susan climbing plants. My friend explained that there were two types, the flower and the climbing vine. I then went on to bore my friend silly with stories of flowers and all the houses I’ve lived in that they reminded me of.

 

I don’t associate flowers with North Heights. This can be attributed to the fact that I was under 5 and therefore cannot be trusted to recall them or I didn’t venture outside. The latter is untrue as there is a very memorable incident with a minivan and the neighbour’s driveway.

 

Montgomery brings to mind a field of red Poppies lining the back garden, almost reminiscent of the scene in The Wizard of Oz where Dorothy runs through the field, succumbing to the Poppies opiates. The appropriately named Bleeding Hearts grew on the outside of the dining room wall.

 

Lloyd Manor had a bed of Lily-of-the Valley separating our house from our neighbour’s driveway. I still can recall how easy it was to tug the flowers right out of the flowerbed, as if they were designed for plucking. In the backyard there were Hens and Chicks planted in the deep crevice of a rock. I found this concept so neat that to this day I have a fascination with succulents.

 

The previous owner professionally landscaped the gardens on Donalbert. She either got Black Eyed Susan’s on deep discount or had an overwhelming love for the bright yellow flower, as they were EVERYWHERE. Front yard, back yard, by the pool, along the shed wall and in multiple other flowerbeds.

 

Orkney didn’t have any particularly distinctive flowers but what does stick out in my mind is the row of dead cedars bought at a sale and planted just a little too late. Lining the back fence were 7 or so cedars 5 of them brown and completely dead. They eventually were uprooted and replaced with living shrubbery.

 

In the spring, early summer when you open the door to the back garden on Scarlett the scent of Lilac wafts into the kitchen. A small standard Lilac was planted on the hill at the back of the garden.

 

Each house had a touch of us left behind. Some pieces of us were left behind in the earth; the Japanese Maple planted on Lloyd Manor, the lavender I insisted on planting at every house, the small vegetable garden Dad attempted on Donalbert and so many more living, growing things.

